New Focus to Blog

It’s been a long time since I last posted and actively maintained this blog.

The reason for not posting is primarily because I have been trying to publish my research while at University. Dual submissions to the blog cause problems with the novelty of research. It seems that it is a hard balancing act to manage.

Then where am I up to now.. I submitted my Masters thesis in May – which includes the automated unpacker I spent many blog posts discussing. Since that time I have now started a PhD at Deakin University, continuing the topic of malware detection and classification.

In trying to balance University and what I can post in a blog, I believe I may have found a way to combine these two worlds.

I have recently been developing User Interfaces to my program analysis and malware classification system. Although I will not be making the source code available, I hope to make a web site or client sofware available for the public. The time frame is not certain, so I doubt it will be public before the end of the year.

The development of the UI seems like an opportunity to keep a video dairy and blog account of how the code progresses. I can’t comment too much on the details of any novel algorithms until the research has been published, but there is much to talk about in a UI and program  analysis in general.

The video progression of the UI can be seen at http://www.youtube.com/silviocesare

This is also an opportunity for people to provide feedback in the direction of the UI.

The interface is still in a very early stage of development. I’ve been coding the Java binary analysis GUI for about a week and a half, and this is my first forray into any real Java programming.

I have spent probably a cumulative time of a month or more on the web interface to the malware classification system.

I hope people enjoy this new direction to the blog – because an active blog is better than in inactive blog!

2 responses to “New Focus to Blog

  1. mind sharing your thesis with us?

    • I am making some very small revisions (textual changes) to the thesis and will resubmit it soon. At this point I will be able to make it available (on my homepage). I will also be speaking at http://www.ruxcon.org.au – the talk will cover the thesis content.

Leave a Reply

